Topic: Hans A. Bethe Prize 2008

The Hans A. Bethe Prize 2008 of the American Physical Society will go to Prof. Friedrich-Karl Thielemann of the University of Basel, Switzerland, "For his many outstanding theoretical contributions to the understanding of nucleosynthesis, stellar evolution and stellar explosions through applications to individual objects and to cosmic chemical evolution."

On the Hans A. Bethe Prize:
To recognize outstanding work in theory, experiment or observation in the areas of astrophysics, nuclear physics, nuclear astrophysics, or closely related fields. It is presented annually.